Multi level bar chart array

Digitisation of the workplace - Who will not be replaced by computers?

Challenges in risk communication

Communication of category-specific uncertain events to consumers.

Why is it relevant to communicate category-specific uncertain events to consumers?

The aim is for the consumer to be able to make better decisions. Therefore, they need to know precise facts and figures - the so-called evidence - in order to weigh options against each other and better assess risks. In addition, the presentation of the exact probabilities of occurrence helps the user not to underestimate or overestimate certain risks. This is particularly relevant when probabilities of occurence differ for various categories (e.g. age groups).

Why is it problematic to communicate category-specific uncertain events to consumers?

If you want to communicate risks, you face a number of challenges:

  • How can probabilities of occurrence be conveyed in general?
  • How can probabilities of multiple categories be compared?
  • How can risk communication provide solutions?
  • And how can the risks be presented in an appealing way so that consumers also enjoy engaging with them?
What is a suitable scientific approach?

The method of multi level bar chart arrays (grouped bar charts with multiple levels) can be used for risk problems, i.e. when reliable numbers are available about how often certain events occur. The method is supposed to give consumers an understanding of the probability of occurrence of such events. Multi level bar chart arrays offer the possibility to compare a certain risk for many different groups,and link them with the help of a hierarchy in such a way that higher-risk and lower-risk groups can be clearly distinguished by the user.

The interactive and dynamic visualisations are designed to help inform consumers and to be appealing at the same time.

Proof of effectiveness

First results of the RisikoAtlas communication studies with multi level bar chart arrays show that they are better received and more likely to be explored than tables with the same information. This information is extracted and remembered as well as with traditional tables.

Recommended literature on methodological basics
  • Ancker, J. S., Senathirajah, Y., Kukafka, R., & Starren, J. B. (2006). Design features of graphs in health risk communication: A systematic review. Journal of the American Medical Informatics Association, 13(6), 608–618.
  • Frey, C. B., & Osborne, M. A. (2017). The future of employment: How susceptible are jobs to computerisation? Technological Forecasting and Social Change, 114, 254–280.
  • Garcia-Retamero, R., & Galesic, M. (2010). Who proficts from visual aids: Overcoming challenges in people’s understanding of risks. Social Science & Medicine, 70(7), 1019–1025.
  • ONet (2018). ONET Resource Center. https://www.onetcenter.org [Letzter Abruf, 31.12.2018]
  • Streit, M., & Gehlenborg, N. (2014). Bar charts and box plots. Nature Methods, 11(2), 117.
How can you implement the method?

Option 1: You can embed the given visualisation
It is possible to embed the visualisation from our website including the frame text via iframe. To do this, use the following html-code for your website: <iframe frameborder="0" height="650px" src="https://static.risikoatlas.de/visualisations/jobloss-deep-sea/jobloss.html" width="1024px"></iframe>

Option 2: You can adapt the given visualisation
If you use your own data as a multiplier, your web developers can enter it into your own consumer fact box with experience-based learning.

We will provide the person responsible for your website with the documented code for download via github. You can then edit the material. The link to the repository is available on request. Contact details can be found here.

Option 3: You can apply the scientific principle independently
If you require assistance, please consult the final report on the RiskAtlas project from July 2020 or contact us. Contact details can be found here.

When using the instruments, please mention the funding agency, which is the German Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection, and the Harding Centre for Risk Literacy as the responsible developers.

Logos can be downladed here.

Links to other methods
Visualisation with frame text

Digitisation of the workplace - Who will not be replaced by computers?

Digitisation is changing the demand for certain jobs. You can observe how new jobs are created, but other jobs are no longer needed, since the tasks can be performed directly or indirectly by machines, computers or algorithms. Some professions are more likely than others to disappear as a result of digitisation. For example, an administrative employee who is supposed to write down the license plates of passing vehicles can be replaced to 100% by the capturing technology of a computer with camera and image recognition software.

The good news is that you can find alternatives for almost any job that match your skills and interests and are less likely to be automated. So which profession should you choose if you don't want to be replaced by a machine in the near future? It is worth taking a look at our chart before choosing a course of study, vocational training programme, or professional development.

In addition to bare figures, certain rules of thumb are also advisable for reducing the risk: consider occupations with a variety of work tasks or even alternating tasks; or occupations in which one works with people. Be cautious about occupations in which the main tasks consist of taking measurements, forwarding or applying fixed rules.

What does the chart show?

The chart illustrates the risk of certain professions being replaced by present-day machines and computers. In order to convey the numerical ratio of the different automation risks, these are represented with colours, and an overview of all occupations, arranged in categories, is given. Red means a high automation risk, green a low one. The search function allows occupations to be searched for directly. With a click on the colours you can also dive into the respective categories of occupations. In this way, the automation risks of the occupations in a category can be seen side by side, and similar occupations can be suggested by clicking on an individual occupation. Up to five career alternatives with a lower risk of being completed by present-day machines and computers are displayed. Click on the arrow in the upper left corner to return to the original view.

Sources and quality of the data

Where are the numbers coming from?

All figures represent exemplary estimates of the automation risk of a profession due to its requirements, given today's technological development, see Frey, C. B., & Osborne, M. A. (2017): The future of employment: how susceptible are jobs to computerisation?. Technological Forecasting and Social Change, 114, 254-280.

All occupational alternatives are proposed as similar using standardised requirement descriptions. These requirements come from the database of the National Center for O*NET Development, which is supported by the U.S. Department of Labor. Not all occupations from the American databases can be transferred to Germany; conversely, the German occupations are not fully refelcted in the American databases either. O*Net (2018). O*NET Resource Center: https://www.onetcenter.org [Retrieved, 31.12.2018].

What is the quality of the data?

The proportionality of the various professions to each other can be roughly expected to be the same today, but the absolute figures are only approximate values. Pure modelling data without empirical observations are generally to be regarded as evidence of low quality. Only very limited conclusions can be drawn from a model about the actual automation and replacement of jobs carried out by humans. Thus, economic developments, cultural values and future technological developments cannot be taken into account in these figures. 

Last update: 14 Oktober 2019.

Links to other topics

Mehrstufiges Balkendiagramm

Digitalisierung der Berufswelt – Wer lässt sich nicht vom Computer ersetzen?

Herausforderung in der Risikokommunikation

Kommunikation kategorienspezifischer unsicherer Ereignisse gegenüber Verbrauchern.

Warum ist es relevant, kategorienspezifische unsichere Ereignisse gegenüber Verbrauchern zu kommunizieren?

Wunsch und Ziel ist es, dass der Verbraucher bessere Entscheidungen trifft. Er muss genaue Zahlen und Fakten – die sogenannte Evidenz – kennen, um Optionen gegeneinander abwägen und Risiken besser einschätzen zu können. Erst dies ermöglicht ihm, informierte Entscheidungen zu treffen. Außerdem wird der Nutzer durch die Darstellung der genauen Eintrittswahrscheinlichkeiten darin unterstützt, bestimmte Risiken nicht zu unter- oder überschätzen. Dies ist vor allem dann bedeutsam, wenn sich die Eintrittswahrscheinlichkeiten für viele Kategorien (z.B. Merkmalsausprägungen wie Altersgruppen) unterscheiden.

Warum ist es schwierig, kategorienspezifische unsichere Ereignisse gegenüber Verbrauchern zu kommunizieren?

Möchte man Risiken kommunizieren, steht man vor einer Reihe an Herausforderungen:

  • Wie können Eintrittswahrscheinlichkeiten überhaupt vermittelt werden?
  • Wie können Wahrscheinlichkeiten zahlreicher Kategorien miteinander verglichen werden?
  • Wie kann Risikokommunikation zudem Lösungsoptionen vermitteln?
  • Und wie können die Risiken in einer ansprechenden Form dargestellt werden, sodass Verbraucher auch Lust haben, sich damit zu beschäftigen?
Welcher wissenschaftliche Lösungsansatz bietet sich an?

Die Methode mehrstufiger Balkendiagramme (multi level bar chart array) kann bei Problemen des Risikos eingesetzt werden – wenn also belastbare Zahlen vorliegen. Durch den Einsatz der Methode soll den Verbrauchern ein Verständnis für die Eintrittswahrscheinlichkeit von Ereignissen vermittelt werden. Durch mehrstufige Balkendiagramme lässt sich dabei dasselbe Risiko für viele Gruppen vergleichen und mithilfe einer Hierarchisierung so verknüpfen, dass risikoreichere und risikoärmere Gruppen vom Nutzer deutlich unterschieden werden können.

Die Interaktivität und Dynamik der Visualisierung soll ansprechend sein und dabei helfen, die Verbraucher zu informieren.

Belege für die Wirksamkeit

Erste Ergebnisse der RisikoAtlas-Kommunikationsstudien mit mehrstufigen Balkendiagrammen zeigen, dass sie besser angenommen und eher exploriert werden als Tabellen mit denselben Informationen. Informationen werden dabei ähnlich gut extrahiert und gemerkt wie bei klassischen Tabellen.

Literaturempfehlungen zu den methodischen Grundlagen
  • Ancker, J. S., Senathirajah, Y., Kukafka, R., & Starren, J. B. (2006). Design features of graphs in health risk communication: A systematic review. Journal of the American Medical Informatics Association, 13(6), 608–618.
  • Frey, C. B., & Osborne, M. A. (2017). The future of employment: How susceptible are jobs to computerisation? Technological Forecasting and Social Change, 114, 254–280.
  • Garcia-Retamero, R., & Galesic, M. (2010). Who proficts from visual aids: Overcoming challenges in people’s understanding of risks. Social Science & Medicine, 70(7), 1019–1025.
  • ONet (2018). ONET Resource Center. https://www.onetcenter.org [Letzter Abruf, 31.12.2018]
  • Streit, M., & Gehlenborg, N. (2014). Bar charts and box plots. Nature Methods, 11(2), 117.
Wie können Sie die Methode übernehmen?

1. Weg: Sie können die vorliegende Visualisierung einbinden
Es besteht die Möglichkeit, die Visualisierung von unserer Website samt Rahmentext über iframe einzubinden. Hierfür übernehmen Sie folgenden html-Code für Ihre Webseite: <iframe frameborder="0" height="650px" src="https://static.risikoatlas.de/visualisations/jobloss-deep-sea/jobloss.html" width="1024px"></iframe>

2. Weg: Sie können die vorliegende Visualisierung adaptieren
Sollten Sie als Multiplikator Ihre eigenen Daten nutzen, können Ihre Webentwickler diese in Ihre eigene Verbraucherfaktenbox mit Erfahrungslernen einpflegen.

Wir stellen Ihnen den dokumentierten Code für den Verantwortlichen Ihrer Webseite zum Download über github bereit. Sie können das Material dann editieren. Den Link zum Repository erhalten Sie auf Anfrage. Die Kontaktdaten finden Sie im Reiter Kontakt.

3. Weg: Sie können das wissenschaftliche Prinzip unabhängig anwenden
Wenn Sie hierbei Unterstützung benötigen, konsultieren Sie bitte den Abschlussbericht zum RisikoAtlas-Projekt ab Juli 2020 oder richten Sie eine Anfrage an uns. Die Kontaktdaten finden Sie im Reiter Kontakt.

Wir bitten darum, bei der Nutzung der Instrumente den Zuwendungsgeber, das Bundesministerium der Justiz und für Verbraucherschutz, sowie das Harding-Zentrum für Risikokompetenz als verantwortliche Entwickler zu erwähnen.

Die Logos zum Download finden Sie hier.

Links zu weiteren Methoden
Visualisierung mit Rahmentext

Digitalisierung der Berufswelt – Wer lässt sich nicht vom Computer ersetzen?

Durch die Digitalisierung verändert sich die Nachfrage nach bestimmten Berufen. Neue Tätigkeiten entstehen, aber andere Jobs werden nicht mehr benötigt, da die Aufgaben direkt oder indirekt durch Maschinen, Computer oder Algorithmen erledigt werden können. Einige Berufe werden wahrscheinlicher als andere im Zuge der Digitalisierung verschwinden. Beispielsweise kann ein Verwaltungsmitarbeiter, der Kennzeichen vorbeifahrender Fahrzeuge aufschreiben soll, durch die Erfassungstechnik eines Computers mit Kamera und Bilderkennungssoftware zu 100% ersetzt werden.

Die gute Nachricht: Es lassen sich für fast jeden Beruf Alternativen finden, dessen Anforderungen zu Ihren Fähigkeiten und Interessen passen und zugleich weniger wahrscheinlich automatisiert werden können. Welchen Beruf sollten Sie also ergreifen, wenn Sie nicht in naher Zukunft durch eine Maschine ersetzt werden wollen? Vor der Studien- oder Ausbildungswahl, aber auch bei Fragen zu Weiterbildungen lohnt sich ein Blick in unsere Grafik.

Neben den blanken Zahlen sind auch bestimmte Faustregeln zum Senken des Risikos empfehlenswert: Ziehen Sie Berufe mit vielfältigen Arbeitsaufgaben oder auch wechselnden Handgriffen in Erwägung, oder Tätigkeiten, bei denen man mit Menschen arbeitet. Seien Sie vorsichtig bei Berufen, bei denen man nur misst, weiterleitet oder feste Regeln anwendet.

Was zeigt die Grafik?

Die Grafik illustriert das Risiko von bestimmten Tätigkeiten, durch heutige Maschinen und Computer erledigt werden zu können. Um das zahlenmäßige Verhältnis der verschiedenen Automatisierungsrisiken zu vermitteln, werden diese in der Helligkeit variiert und ein Überblick über alle Berufe, angeordnet in Kategorien, gegeben. Dunkle Farbe steht hier für ein hohes Automatisierungsrisiko, helle Farbe für ein geringes. Durch die Suchfunktion lassen sich Berufe direkt auffinden. Mit einem Klick auf die Farben lässt sich aber auch in die jeweiligen Kategorien von Berufen eintauchen. So kann man die Automatisierungsrisiken der Berufe einer Kategorie nebeneinander sehen und vor allem per Klick auf einen einzelnen Beruf ähnliche Berufe vorgeschlagen bekommen. Bis zu fünf Berufsalternativen mit einem geringeren Risiko, durch heutige Maschinen und Computer ersetzt zu werden, werden dargestellt. Mit dem Klick auf den erscheinenden Pfeil links oben kann man immer wieder zur Ausgangsansicht gelangen.

Quelle und Qualität der Daten

Woher stammen die Zahlen?

Alle Zahlen stellen modellhafte Schätzungen zum Automatisierungsrisiko eines Berufes mit seinen Anforderungen aufgrund der heutigen technologischen Entwicklung dar; s. Frey, C. B., & Osborne, M. A. (2017): The future of employment: How susceptible are jobs to computerisation? Technological Forecasting and Social Change, 114, 254–280.

Berufliche Alternativen werden mithilfe standardisierter Anforderungsbeschreibungen als ähnlich vorgeschlagen. Diese Anforderungen stammen aus der Datenbank des National Center for O*NET Development, welches vom amerikanischen Arbeitsministerium (U.S. Department of Labor) unterstützt wird. Nicht alle Berufe aus den US-amerikanischen Datenbanken lassen sich auf Deutschland übertragen. Umgekehrt sind auch die deutschen Berufe nicht vollständig in den US-amerikanischen Datenbanken abgebildet. O*Net (2018). O*NET Resource Center: https://www.onetcenter.org [letzter Abruf am 31.12.2018].

Wie hoch ist die Qualität der Daten?

Die Verhältnismäßigkeit der verschiedenen Berufe zueinander ist nach heutigem Stand grob so zu erwarten, wie im Diagramm dargestellt, die absoluten Zahlen sind jedoch nur Orientierungswerte. Reine Modellierungsdaten ohne empirische Beobachtungen sind in der Regel als Evidenz niedriger Qualität zu betrachten. Aus einem Modell lässt sich nur sehr eingeschränkt auf die tatsächliche Automatisierung und Ersetzung menschlicher Arbeitsplätze schließen. So können in diesen Zahlen volkswirtschaftliche Entwicklungen, kulturelle Werte und zukünftige technologische Entwicklungen nicht berücksichtigt werden.

Datum der letzten Aktualisierung: 14. Oktober 2019

Links zu weiteren Themen